HOME 〉  About Us  〉  Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee, comprising a small number of internationally renowned scientists and experts in the field of lake and reservoir management and conservation, is responsible for advancing and implementing scientific matters supporting the aims of ILEC. The members of the Scientific Committee are elected for three years with possibility of being reappointed. They work on a voluntary basis. The Bureau Members, consisting of the chairperson, vice-chairperson(s), and three other members (including secretary), are entrusted with the business of the Scientific Committee. The current membership is as follows:

(12th Term : April 2016 – March 2019 )

*Updated as of April 1, 2018


Prof. Walter RAST
Professor Emeritus and Director
International Watershed Studies, The Meadows Center for Water and the Environment
Texas State University

Vice Chairs

Department Manager III
Resource Management and Development Department

Laguna Lake Development Authority (LLDA)

Prof. Salif DIOP
Agricultural Sciences Section
Academy of Sciences and Techniques of Senegal

Bureau Member

Prof. Sandra AZEVEDO
Carlos Chagas Filho Biophysics Institute
Brazil Federal University of Rio de Janeiro


Prof. Tsugihiro WATANABE
Laboratory of Regional Planning
Graduate School of Global Environmental Studies
Kyoto University
Prof. Daniel OLAGO
Institute for Climate Change and Adaptation(ICCA) & Department of Geology
University of Nairobi
The Lake Atitlán Environmental Protection Society
Dr. Ajit Kumar PATTNAIK
Vice President
Wetlands International South Asia



Dr. Zhengyu HU
Deputy Director
The Institute of Hydrobiology
Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
Prof. Yoshihisa SHIMIZU
Research Center for Environmental Quality Management
Graduate School of Engineering
Kyoto University
Prof. Colin Maxwell FINLAYSON
The Institute for Land,
Water and Society
Charles Sturt University
Prof. Pieter van der ZAAG
[The Netherlands]
Professor of Water Resources Management
IHE Delft Institute for Water Education


Former Members

  • Dr. Masaaki NAITO [Japan] (Ex-officio)
  • Prof. Xiangcan JIN [China]
  • Dr. Mohan KODARKAR [India]
  • Dr. Chris H. D. MAGADZA [Zimbabwe]
  • Dr. Eric ODADA [Kenya]
  • Prof. Saburo MATSUI [Japan]
  • Prof. Sven Erik JORGENSEN [Denmark]
  • Prof. Tatsuo KIRA [Japan]
  • Ms. Dianne DUMANOSKI [USA]
  • Dr. Anders JAGERSKOG [Sweden]
  • Prof. Nii Boi AYIBOTELE [Ghana]
  • Ing. Conrado E. BAUER [Argentina]
  • Dr. Riccardo DE BERNARDI [Italy]
  • Prof. James P. BRUCE [Canada]
  • Ing. Alberto T. J. CALCAGNO [Argentina]
  • Dr. Madhave Atmaram CHITALE [India]
  • Dr. Sven EVTEEV [Kenya]
  • Prof. Takeshi GODA [Japan ]
  • Prof. Genady N. GOLUBEV [Russia]
  • Dr. Steve HALLS [Japan]
  • Prof. Michio HASHIMOTO [Japan]
  • Prof. Liu HONGLIANG [China]
  • Dr. Sidharth KAUL [India]
  • Dr. Triloki Nath KHOSHOO [India]
  • Prof. Heinz LOEFFLER [Austria]
  • Prof. Ferenc MATE [Hungary]
  • Prof. Kenneth MAVUTI [Kenya]
  • Dr. Richard A. MEGANK [Netherland]
  • Prof. Mambillikalathil G. K. MENON MP [India]
  • Dr. Michel MEYBECK [France]
  • Prof. Jurgen OVERBECK [Germany]
  • Prof. Sanga SABHASRI [Thailand]
  • Prof. Janos SALANKI [Hungary]
  • Prof. Milan STRASKRABA [Czech Republic]
  • Prof. Richard THOMAS [Canada]
  • Prof. Jose Galizia TUNDISI [Brazil]
  • Prof. Richard A. VOLLENWEIDER [Canada]
  • Prof. Robert George WETZEL [USA]
  • Prof. Gilbert F. WHITE [USA]
  • Prof. William David WILLIAMS [Australia]
  • Prof. Masahisa NAKAMURA [Japan]
  • Prof. Nikolai ALADIN [Russia]
  • Dr. Richard Denis ROBARTS [Canada]
  • Prof. Luigi NASELLI-FLORES [Italy]